James E. Horton, Jr. Angus Scholarship

Gregg and Lile Blythe established the James E. Horton, Jr. Angus Scholarship Endowment Fund to honor Gregg's long-time friend, mentor and Angus partner, James Edwin Horton. The Fund was started with a gift of $20,000 in 2006. A leader in the Angus breed for many years, Mr. Horton served as a director and President of the American Angus Association during the 1970s. He was instrumental in the acquisition of the Angus Journal, establishing Certified Angus Beef and led the efforts for the eventual creation of the Angus Foundation. First preference will be given to Angus youth from Alabama to receive this scholarship. A different recipient will receive the scholarship each year. The Angus Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship Program application will be used to select the James E. Horton, Jr. Angus Scholarship recipient. Recipients may also receive other scholarships from the Angus Foundation or local, state, regional and national Angus-related entities.

Past Winners

2023Nelson Allen, AL
2023Makayla Walker, AL
2022Heather Gladney, AL
2021Aspen Adams, AL
2021Layton Adams, AL
2020Audra Graves, AL
2019Katie Smith, AL
2018Mary Ali Oliver, TN
2017Savannah Schafer, NE
2016Reid McGuire, AL
2015Jacob Smith, AL
2014Jacob Smith, AL
2013Clay McGuire, AL
2012Kassandra Pfeiffer, OK
2011Kelsey Pfeiffer, OK
2010Hannah Barton, AL
2009Tyler Wood, AL
2008Andre Jones, AL
American Angus Association | 3201 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506 | 816-383-5100 | ©Copyright 2024, All rights reserved.