# AMERICAN ANGUS ASSOCIATION® HIGHLIGHTS OF THE MEETINGS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS NOVEMBER 2 & 5, 2015

The following is a review of the topics discussed and actions taken during the meetings of the Board of Directors held November 2 and 5, 2015, in Overland Park, Kansas.

- The 2015 Annual Reports of the American Angus Association and the Angus Foundation were presented to the Board.
- It was announced that Allen Moczygemba, the new Chief Executive Officer, and his wife Venetta would arrive during the National Angus Convention and Trade Show and would attend the annual Convention of Delegates and other events.
- The Board directed staff to proceed with development of a structured sire evaluation with details to go through the Breed Improvement Committee and a report to be made at the February regular Board meeting. This program will generate additional progeny data for carcass and other traits, by mating Angus sires to commercial cows in a well-designed program.
- The Special Minutes Policy Review Committee continued its review of the minutes reporting practices.
- Plans for the first ever Angus Pen Heifer Show that will be held at the 2016 National Western Stock Show are generating increased interest.
- The Board discussed Oculocutaneous Hypopigmentation (OH) as a genetic condition, and approved a plan to identify OH as a condition, establish a policy as proposed (<u>click here</u>), and authorize announcement on the Association's website (<u>click here</u>).
- The next regular American Angus Association Board meeting will be held February 24-26, 2016, in St. Joseph, Missouri.

The following committees were appointed and subsidiary boards elected for 2016.

## **Executive Committee**

Jim Sitz, Chair Charlie Boyd II, Vice Chair Kevin Yon, Treasurer Leo McDonnell John Pfeiffer, Jr. Rich Wilson, Ex Officio

#### **Activities Committee**

John F. Grimes, Chair David A. Dal Porto, Vice Chair Tom Burke Chuck Grove Mick Varilek

## **Breed Improvement Committee**

Jerry Connealy, Chair Leo McDonnell, Vice Chair John Elbert Harrell Mike McCravy Don Schiefelbein Mick Varilek Kevin Yon

#### **Industry Relations Committee**

John Elbert Harrell, Chair Charlie Boyd II, Vice Chair Tom Burke James S. Coffey Jerry Connealy

# **Finance and Planning Committee**

Kevin Yon, Chair John Pfeiffer, Jr., Vice Chair Charlie Boyd II Tom Burke James S. Coffey John Elbert Harrell Leo McDonnell Dave Nichols

#### **Member and Affiliate Services Committee**

James W. Henderson, Chair John Pfeiffer, Jr., Vice Chair David A. Dal Porto Mike McCravy Dave Nichols

#### **Research Priorities Committee**

Charlie Boyd II, Chair, Association Vice President Kevin Yon, Association Treasurer Don Schiefelbein, AGI Chair John Pfeiffer, Jr., CAB Chair Leo McDonnell, Angus Foundation Chair Dan Moser, Director Performance Programs Director Genetic Research Larry Corah, CAB Staff Representative Ex Officio Richard Wilson, Association Interim CEO & CFO Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation President

## **National Cattlemen's Beef Association Appointments**

Ag & Food Policy Committee
Cattle Health & Well-Being Committee
Cattle Marketing & International Trade Committee

Chaplain John Elbert Harrell

NCBA Board Representative

Parliamentarian Sean Colligan

## **Special Data Force Committee**

Jerry Connealy, Chair James S. Coffey James W. Henderson Leo McDonnell John Pfeiffer, Jr. Kevin Yon John Pfeiffer, Jr. John F. Grimes James W. Henderson

## **Special Minutes Policy Review Committee**

John Elbert Harrell, Chair

Tom Burke

David A. Dal Porto

John F. Grimes

**Dave Nichols** 

Don Schiefelbein

Kevin Yon

# **Angus Foundation Board of Directors**

Leo McDonnell, Chair

Richard Wilson, Vice Chair & Secretary

Milford H. Jenkins, President

Tom Burke

John F. Grimes

Chuck Grove

John Elbert Harrell

Dave Nichols

Mark Duffell, Outside Representative

# **Angus Genetics Inc. Board of Directors**

Don Schiefelbein, Chair

Richard Wilson, Vice Chair & Secretary Treasurer

Dan Moser, President

Jerry Connealy

David A. Dal Porto

James W. Henderson

Leo McDonnell

**Dave Nichols** 

Kevin Yon

# **Angus Productions Inc. Board of Directors**

Charlie Boyd II, Chair

Richard Wilson, Vice Chair & Secretary Treasurer

Eric Grant, President

James S. Coffey

Jerry Connealy

John F. Grimes

Chuck Grove

James W. Henderson

Kevin Yon

# **Certified Angus Beef LLC Board of Directors**

John Pfeiffer, Jr., Chair

Richard Wilson, Vice Chair & Secretary Treasurer

John Stika, President

Jerry Connealy

David A. Dal Porto

James W. Henderson

Don Schiefelbein

Mick Varilek

Dwight "Kip" Palmer, Industry Representative

Brent Eichar, Assistant Secretary