12th Annual Angus Foundation Golf Tournament Grosses $14,400



July 20, 2012




For more information contact:

Katie Allen, Angus Foundation director of marketing and public relations, at 816-383-5100 or; or

Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation president, at 816-383-5100 or


12th Annual Angus Foundation Golf Tournament Grosses $14,400

Tournament proceeds will benefit the Angus Foundation’s youth, education and research efforts.


Fifty-six Angus youth and adult participants helped raise $14,400 in gross proceeds for education, youth and research at the 12th Annual Angus Foundation Golf Tournament, held July 17, 2012, at the Quail Chase Golf Club in Louisville, Ky. The tournament was hosted in conjunction with the 2012 National Junior Angus Show.


“As in years past, the Angus Foundation is very appreciative of the generous support from Angus breeders, allied industry interests and friends helping to make our golf tournament fundraiser another successful event,” says Milford Jenkins, Angus Foundation president. “Their financial help through sponsorships and playing in the tournament enable us to offer this always fun and spirited competition for our Angus golf enthusiasts attending the NJAS. Net proceeds from the tournament are used for scholarships, education and research for the benefit of our members and the Angus breedOur many thanks to everyone who supported this year’s tournament!”


Golf tournament winners this year in Flight A included Jim Purfeerst, Matt Purfeerst and Mark Purfeerst all of Faribault, Minn., and Lynn Ewald of Waldorf, Minn. Flight B winners were Don Denny and Dylan Denny of Lubbock, Texas, Tye Williams of Idalou, Texas, and Dawson Dal Porto of Brentwood, Calif. Flight C winners included Chance Hardy and Cort Hardy of Diamond, Mo., Conrad Behlmann of St. Paul, Mo., and Gene Mullett of Coshocton, Ohio.


Contest winners included the following: longest putt for men Brett Flach of Harrodsburg, Ky., and longest putt for women Christina Ritter of Laytonsville, Md.; longest drive for men Greg Connell of Eugene, Mo., and longest drive for women Christina Ritter; closest to the pin for men Dylan Denny, and closest to the pin for women Christina Ritter; most accurate drive for men Dereck Washam of Pierce City, Mo., and most accurate drive for women Joelle Jensen, North English, Iowa.


2012 Tournament sponsors included event sponsors Terry Stade Farms, Shakopee, Minn., and Richard Ames, Jordan, Minn. Club house sponsor was Omega Farms, Williamston, Mich. Hole-in-one sponsor was Paul and Lynn Hill, Sarah and Jason Schaffer, and Neenah and Alok Jain, Bidwell, Ohio. Tee box sponsors included American Angus Association Regional Managers, and Bob and Cathy Watkins, Middletown, Ind.


Hole sponsors included Briarwood Angus Farms, Butler, Mo.; Jarold and Jennifer Callahan, Edmond, Okla.; Conover Auction Service, Baxter, Iowa; Dameron Angus, Lexington, Ill.; Dobson Angus Farm, Campti, La., Express Ranches, Yukon, Okla.; Georgia Angus Association; Green Mountain Angus Ranch, Ryegate, Mont.; Indiana Angus Association; Lazy JB Angus, Montrose, Colo.; Maplecrest Farms, Hillsboro, Ohio; McCabe Genetics, Elk City, Kan.; Minnesota Angus Association; Mississippi Angus Association; Mitteness Family Angus, Benson, Minn.; Doug Satree Angus, Montague, Texas; Schroeder Angus, Clarence, Iowa; Styles Angus, Brentford, S.D.; Matth. Toebben, Crescent Springs, Ky.; Tokach Angus Ranch, Saint Anthony, N.D.; and Wisconsin Junior Angus Association.


Flag sponsors were 2K Cattle Enterprises, Glen Haven, Wis.; A & B Cattle, Bassett, Neb.; Harry H. Bachman Auctioneer, Annville, Pa.; D L B Angus, Finksburg, Md.; Frey Livestock Supply, Quarryville, Penn.; Michigan Angus Association; and Penner Ranch, Mill Creek, Okla.


In addition, Sysco Louisville, Inc., provided Certified Angus Beef® steaks for the tournament awards luncheon. Milo’s Famous Tea provided golfers with tea during the tournament and luncheon.


Lindsey Grimes, Angus Foundation director on the National Junior Angus Association (NJAA) Board of Directors from Hillsboro, Ohio, and Kelli Retallick, member of the NJAA Board of Directors from Glen Haven, Wis., served this year’s masters of ceremonies.


The Angus Foundation was established in 1980 as a not-for-profit 501(c)(3) organization to support Angus education, youth and research. To learn more about the Angus Foundation and the programs it supports, call the American Angus Association® at 816-383-5100 or go to




American Angus Association | 3201 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506 | 816-383-5100 | ©Copyright 2023, All rights reserved.